Listen: Rihanna’s Uplifting “Towards The Sun” (From DreamWorks’ ‘Home’)

Single Artwork for Rihanna's "Towards the Sun" ('Home')

Single Artwork for Rihanna’s “Towards the Sun” (‘Home’)

Star of Dreamworks’ upcoming animated comedy feature Home , Rihanna has released a new single from the film’s accompanying concept album.

Written by Tiago Carvalho, Gary Baker , and Rihanna herself, Towards The Sun is a mid-tempo pop/R&B anthem driven by motivational lyrics, pounding drums and beautifully layered harmonies.

“Turn your face towards the sun / Let the shadows fall behind you,” she sings in the song’s massive chorus. “Don’t look back / Just carry on / And the shadows will never find you…” Listen below.

Completely curated by the Bajan pop star, the 13-track set will include contributions from Jennifer Lopez ( “Feel the Light” ), Charli XC ( “Red Balloon” ), and Kiesza ( “Cannonball” ).

“The concept album is not a general soundtrack, but a studio record with Rihanna on the bandwagon,” said DreamWorks CEO Jeffrey Katzenberg .

He continued: “And with her chart-dominating ways, it is only expected for the crew, Rihanna and her world class songwriting creative team to pull off an album that is almost expected to perform exceptionally on the charts, radios and other music platforms. It is not one, two or three songs but an entire collection that maintains a theme and unified story. This is what really sets ‘Home’ apart. It is also necessary to underline that it is not a musical.”

“Towards The Sun” was released for digital download on February 24, 2015 via Rihanna’s own label Westbury Road . The album will release on March 17, 2015.

Dreamworks 'Home'

Dreamworks’ ‘Home’

Set to hit theaters on March 27, 2015, Home is based on Adam Rex ‘s 2007 children’s book The True Meaning of Smekday .

It follows an overly optimistic, alien race named Boov, led by Captain Smek ( Steve Martin ), who invades Earth to hide from their mortal enemy and make it a new home.

Convinced they are doing a favor, they begin to relocate the human race, but one resourceful girl, Tip (Rihanna), manages to avoid capture.

Dreamworks 'Home'

When on the run, she is accompanied by a banished Boov, named Oh ( Jim Parsons ), who has accidentally notified the enemies of his whereabouts. JLo voices the role of Tip’s mom in the film.

Directed by Tim Johnson and produced by Chris Jenkins and Suzanne Buirgy , Home is being distributed by 20th Century Fox.

Check out the the tracklisting for the concept album and film trailer below.

01 Charli XCX – Red Balloon
02 Clarence Coffee Jr – Run to Me
03 Rihanna – Dancing In the Dark
04 James Clark – Peaceful Holiday
05 Jim Parsons – Boov Death Song
06 Rihanna – Towards the Sun
07 Rihanna – As Real As You And Me
08 The Platters – Deck the Halls
09 Stargate & Balkan Beat Box – Slushious
10 Rihanna – Only Girl (In the World)
11 Kiesza – Cannonball
12 Rihanna – Drop That
13 Jennifer Lopez – Feel the Light