2015 MTV Africa Music Awards: Davido, Toofan Lead Nominations


Davido (Nigeria), Toofan (Togo), and Wizkid (Nigeria) lead nominations for the 2015 MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMAs), which will take place on Saturday, July 18th to coincide with Nelson Mandela ‘s birthday. The nominees were announced on Thursday at a reception in Harem, Johannesburg.

As one of Africa biggest acts, Davido is ahead of the pack with four nods: Best Male ; Best Collaboration and Video of the Year for “The Sound,” featuring Uhuru and DJ Buckz ; and Song of the Year for Lil Kesh ‘s Shoki Remix ,” on which he’s featured alongside Olamide .

Also earning four nominations is Toofan: Best Collaboration for Apero Remix with DJ Arafat , Song of the Year for “Gweta,” Best Live , and Best Francophone .

Wizkid is competing in three categories: Best Male , Song of the Year for Show You The Money ,” and Video of the Year for Seyi Shay ‘s “Crazy,” on which he features.

Along with Video of the Year, Seyi (Nigeria) is nominated for Best Female , where she’s battling Yemi Alade (Nigeria), who is also seeking Song of the Year for “Johnny.”

Presented by MTV Base alongside Viacom International Media Networks (VIMN), the 2015 MAMAs will be held on Saturday, July 18, 2015 at Durban’s International Convention Center. See the full list of nominees below.

2015 MTV Africa Music Awards Nominees

Best Male
AKA (South Africa)
Davido (Nigeria)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Sarkodie (Ghana)
Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Female
Bucie (South Africa)
Busiswa (South Africa)
Seyi Shay (Nigeria)
Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania)
Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Group
B4 (Angola)
Beatenberg (South Africa)
Black Motion (South Africa)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Best New Act Transformed by Absolut
Anna Joyce (Angola)
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
Duncan (South Africa)
Patoranking (Nigeria)
Stonebwoy (Ghana)

Best Hip Hop
Cassper Nyovest (South Africa)
K.O. (South Africa)
Phyno (Nigeria)
Olamide (Nigeria)
Youssoupha (DRC)

Best Collaboration
AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: All Eyes On Me (SA/Nigeria)
Davido featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz: “The Sound” (Nigeria/SA)
Diamond & Iyanya: Bum Bum (Kenya/Nigeria)
Toofan & DJ Arafat: “Apero Remix” (Togo/Ivory Coast)
Stanley Enow & Sarkodie: Njama Njama Cow Remix (Cameroon/Ghana)

Song of the Year
Cassper Nyovest: Doc Shebeleza (South Africa)
Euphonik featuring Mpumi: “Busa” (South Africa)
DJ Fisherman & NaakMusiQ featuring DJ Tira, Danger & Dream Team: Call Out (South Africa)
K.O featuring Kid X: Caracara (South Africa)
Lil Kesh Featuring Olamide & Davido: “Shoki Remix” (Nigeria)
Mavins: Dorobucci (Nigeria)
Sauti Sol: Sura Yako (Kenya)
Toofan: “Gweta” (Togo)
Wizkid: “Show You The Money” (Nigeria)
Yemi Alade: “Johnny” (Nigeria)

Best Live
Big Nuz (South Africa)
Diamond (Tanzania)
Flavour (Nigeria)
Mi Casa (South Africa)
Toofan (Togo)

Video of the Year
“Crazy” – Seyi Shay Featuring Wizkid; Director: Meji Alabi
Doors – Prime Circle; Director: Ryan Kruger
Love You Everyday – Bebe Cool; Director: Clarence Peters
Nafukwa – Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw
“The Sound” – Davido Featuring Uhuru & DJ Buckz; Director: Sesan

Best Pop & Alternative
Fuse ODG (Ghana)
Jeremy Loops (South Africa)
Jimmy Nevis (South Africa)
Nneka (Nigeria)
Prime Circle (South Africa)

Best Francophone
DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)
Jovi (Cameroon)
Laurette Le Pearle (DRC)
Tour 2 Garde (Ivory Coast)
Toofan (Togo)

Best Lusophone
Ary (Angola)
B4 (Angola)
Nelson Freitas (Cape Verde)
NGA (Angola)
Yuri Da Cunha (Angola)

Personality of the Year
Basketmouth (Nigeria)
Bonang Matheba (South Africa)
OC Ukeje (Nigeria)
Trevor Noah (South Africa)
Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

[via okayafrica.com ]